The Harvey Mudd College Department of Computer Science graduated its first class in 1992. Since then, the department has grown to its current size of nine tenure-track faculty members and three staff members.

In addition to the Computer Science Major, the department supports the Joint Major in Mathematics and Computer Science and the Mathematical and Computational Biology Major. There are over 80 students in the class of 2015 pursuing one of these majors.

The department works closely with our sister departments at Pomona and Claremont McKenna Colleges and our courses draw students from all five Claremont Colleges and the Claremont Graduate University.

The department seeks to provide students with a strong foundational background blending experimentation, theory, and design. Our graduates are equally well-prepared for work in industry and graduate school. The capstone Clinic Program provides students with a year-long software design project and our active Research Program involves approximately 50 students in research, funded by grants and gifts from the National Science Foundation, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, and the Rose-Hills and Baker Foundations.

Department News

  • The department is pleased to welcome three new tenure-track assistant professor, Drs. Jim Boerkoel, Julie Medero, and Elizabeth “Beth” Trushkoswky. We also welcome Dr. Yi-Chieh “Jessica” Wu as a visiting assistant professor and Dr. Lisa Kaczmarczyk, Mr. Jeff Amelang, and Mr. Andrew Goodney who will be visiting adjunct faculty in the department.
  • Priya Donti ‘15 has had a research paper accepted to the AAAI’s Symposium on Human Robot Interaction. Her paper is entitled “Exploring Active and Passive Team-Based Coordination”. Congratulations Priya!
  • John Sarracino ‘14, Prof. Ben Wiedermann, and several colleagues from UC Santa Barbara have had a research paper accepted to Foundations of Software Engineering (FSE). The paper is entitled “JSAI: A Static Analysis Platform for JavaScript”, and it describes a new suite of tools for analyzing JavaScript programs.
  • The college has received a grant from the National Science Foundation to support research in computational biology. The grant, entitled, “Algorithms and Tools for Phylogenetic Tree Reconciliation” will support the work of Prof. Ran Libeskind-Hadas and five undergraduates per year for the next three years.
  • Professor Zach Dodds has been appointed the Leonhard-Johnson-Rae Chair. Congratulations to Prof. Dodds on this well-deserved recognition for his many excellent contributions to the department, the college, and the computing community!
  • Three Mudders have received NSF Graduate Fellowships in Computer Science in the 2014 competition: Miranda Parker, ‘14, Edward Wang ‘13 (currently in the Ph.D. program at U. Washington), and John Peebles ‘13 (currently in the Ph.D. program at MIT).