Don Chamberlin Research Award

This award annually recognizes a graduate or graduates judged by the faculty to have successfully completed a significant piece of computer science research. The award honors Don Chamberlin, HMC '66, who was a co-creator of SQL, the standard language for accessing and manipulating databases.

2012 Award

  • Stuart A. Pernsteiner, '12
  • Anak Yodpinyaee '12
Past Awards

Computer Science Class of '94 Award

This award annually recognizes a graduate or graduates judged by the faculty to have an outstanding record in a combination of course work, research, and service. The award was created in honor of the first graduating class of computer science at Harvey Mudd College.

2012 Award

  • Sarah Morgan Ferraro, '12
  • Eric Alexander Mullen, '12
Past Awards

Wing Tam Award

The Wing Tam award is given annually to a student or student team for demonstrating excellence in software design and development. The award is typically chosen based on projects in CS 121.

2012 Award

  • Colin Reed Bundschu,
  • Stephen Charles Levine,
  • Helen S. Wu,
  • Paul McCormack

Past Awards

Jarthur Award

The Jarthur Award is given annually to one or more student staff members who have been exemplary system administrators. These students have gone above and beyond the call of duty in repairing, maintaining, and upgrading the department's computing infrastructure.

2012 Award

  • Jessica Lea Peck '13

Past Awards

CS Service Award

The CS Service Award is given annually to one or more students who have been exemplary department citizens. These students have gone above and beyond the call of duty in interviewing students, doing demonstrations, and overall service to the members of the CS Dept.

2012 Award

  • Sarah Ferraro, '12

Past Awards

Computer Science Clinic Award

Computer Science Clinic awards are given to individual team members, the participation of whom was deemed to be uniquely essential to the success of their team's project.

2012 Award

  • Sarah Morgan Ferraro '12
  • Apatite to Zircon Team ('11-'12)
    • Leif Michael Gaebler
    • Calvin Alexander Loncaric
    • Colin Richard O'Byrne
    • Thea Rose Osinski
Past Awards

Computer Science Department Honors

Computer Science Department Honors are given to graduating seniors who have distinguished themselves beyond their academic performance by their service to the department and to the college.

2012 Award

  • Kevin Michael Black
  • Adam Michael Cozzette
  • Lilian de Greef
  • Sarah Morgan Ferarro
  • Lindsay Grace Hall
  • Calvin Alexander Loncaric
  • Stephanos Yuji Matsumoto
  • Eric Alexander Mullen
  • Stuart A. Pernsteiner
  • Tselil Schramm
  • Anak Yodpinyanee
  • Past Awards

    Special Awards

    Tapia 2009 Robotics Competition - First Place

    • Import Antigravity
      • Kate Burgers
      • Rebecca Green
      • Sabreen Lakhani
    Past Awards

    CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Award

    The annual CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Award recognizes undergraduate students who show outstanding research potential in an area of computing research. Nominations are made to CRA by the CS Department.

    2011 Award

    Past Awards

    ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest

    The ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC) traces its roots to a competition held at Texas A&M in 1970 hosted by the Alpha Chapter of the UPE Computer Science Honor Society. The contest has evolved into a multi-tier world-wide competition with winners of regional competitions advancing to the World Finals. The contest fosters creativity, teamwork, and innovation in building new software programs, and enables students to test their ability to perform under pressure. Quite simply, it is the oldest, largest, and most prestigious programming contest in the world. Harvey Mudd College won the 1996 contest.

    2010 Results

    Congratulations to the HMC teams in the 2010 Southern California regionals. The standings out of 72 competing teams:

    • 1st Place, HMC 42, Daniel Fielder, Stuart Pernsteiner, and Anak Yodpinyanee
    • 3rd Place, HMC Squared, Andrew Carter, Michael Leece, and Daniel Lubarov
    • 17th Place, HMC Hammer, Max Kukartsev, Max Korbel, and Carl Walsh
    • 22nd Place, HMC Escher, Ryan Brewster and Jackson Newhouse
    Past Awards

    Computer Science Clinic Poster Award

    Computer Science Clinic Poster awards recognize clinic teams who have produced exemplary posters for the end-of-year poster sessions.

    2012 Award

    • Intel Team ('11-'12)
      • Philip Aelion-Moss
      • William Matthew Buik
      • Paul McDill Hobbs
      • Daniel Girsha Lubarov
    • 2011 Award

      • Qualcomm Team ('10-'11)
        • Karen Gragg
        • Daniel Fielder
        • Emily Fujimoto
        • Eric Mullen

      Past Awards