Artificial Machine Intelligence = Search Targets Awaiting Discovery

This talented group of young researchers form the AMISTAD Lab. Together we work on problems in theoretical machine learning, probability, statistics, and search.

Our current research projects include:

Interested in joining the lab as a summer research student? Stop by Olin 1281 so we can chat!
(Non-Claremont Colleges students can apply here.)

What does AMISTAD mean? In Spanish, amistad means “friendship,” which is an important aspect of our lab culture. There is the backcronyn given at the top of the page, which alludes to the fact that machine learning and AI can be reduced to searches for small targets, a guiding focus of the research in our lab. Lastly, La Amistad was also the name of a 19th century slave ship (with an eponymous film based on the story, Amistad) taken over by those held captive, risking their lives in their fight for freedom. Their courage and struggle reminds us that rebellion and defying consensus, though always dangerous, can at times become necessary. Groundbreaking research always includes an aspect of rebellion. But rebellions can remain optimistic, generous, and loving pursuits of truth, of which amistad (friendship) is a reminder. We have hope; and in the words of Jyn Erso, rebellions are built on hope.

Rogues' Gallery

Daniel Bashir

Daniel Bashir

Team Lead - Overfitting and Underfitting

Mudd junior with serious ML skills and deep understanding.

dbashir@hmc.edu

Kinjal Shah

Kinjal Shah

Team Overfitting and Underfitting

A mathematical powerhouse with a keen mind and strong deductive powers.

kdshah@hmc.edu

Julius Lauw

Julius Lauw

Team ML as Search

Bright student with a drive to ask all the right questions.

julauw@g.hmc.edu

Dominique Macias

Dominique Macias

Team Overfitting and Underfitting

Strong mathematical ability and elegant proof mastery.

dmacias@g.hmc.edu

Nathan Justin

Nathan Justin

Team ML as Search

Boldness, positivity, and brilliance: Nathan is the real deal.

njustin@g.hmc.edu

Dave Makhervaks

Dave Makhervaks

Team ML as Search

Quiet strength, with a confidence to strive and a hunger to learn.

dmakhervaks@g.hmc.edu

Pedro Sandoval Segura

Pedro Sandoval Segura

Team Overfitting and Underfitting

A beautiful soul who appreciates the beauty of mathematics.

psandovalsegura@g.hmc.edu

Mek Jenrungrot

Mek Jenrungrot

Team KDE

“Mek is a Legend.” — Actual student speaking of Mek.

mjenrungrot@g.hmc.edu

Prof. George

George D. Montañez

Lab Director

Just a curious mind swimming in a sea of peculiar observations.

gmontanez@g.hmc.edu

Home Publications LinkedIn CV GitHub