Artificial Machine Intelligence = Search Targets Awaiting Discovery

This talented group of young researchers form the AMISTAD Lab. Together we work on problems in theoretical machine learning, probability, statistics, and search.

Our current research projects include:

Interested in joining the lab? Stop by Olin 1281 so we can chat!

What does AMISTAD mean? In Spanish, amistad means “friendship,” which is an important aspect of our lab culture. There is the backcronyn given at the top of the page, which alludes to the fact that machine learning and AI can be reduced to searches for small targets, a guiding focus of the research in our lab. Lastly, La Amistad was also the name of a 19th century slave ship (with an eponymous film based on the story, Amistad) taken over by those held captive, risking their lives in their fight for freedom. Their courage and struggle reminds us that rebellion and defying consensus, though always dangerous, can at times become necessary. Groundbreaking research always includes an aspect of rebellion. But rebellions can remain optimistic, generous, and loving pursuits of truth, of which amistad (friendship) is a reminder. We have hope; and in the words of Jyn Erso, rebellions are built on hope.

Rogues' Gallery

Dominique Macias

Dominique Macias

Team Lead - Overfitting and Underfitting

Strong mathematical ability and elegant proof mastery.

dmacias@g.hmc.edu

Julius Lauw

Julius Lauw

Overfitting and Underfitting

Bright student with a drive to ask all the right questions.

julauw@g.hmc.edu

Kyle Rong

Kyle Rong

Team Lead - DFA Learnability

Advanced beyond his years, the precocious Rong is usually right.

krong@g.hmc.edu

Akshay Trikha

Akshay Trikha

Overfitting and Underfitting

A sense of wonder combined with an excitement for learning.

atrikha@hmc.edu

Jonan Rohi-Plueger

Jonan Rohi-Plueger

DFA Learnability

Take a look at his neuro-kinetics, they're way above normal.

jonanrohi.s.plueger@biola.edu

Howard Deshong

Howard Deshong

DNA & DFAs

Bright, charismatic, kind, and humble. Howard shines.

hcdeshong@hmc.edu

Laina Sanders

Laina Sanders

DNA & DFAs

Mathematically gifted and strong, Laina rises to meet any challenge.

lsanders@g.hmc.edu

Rui-Jie Yew

Rui-Jie Yew

DFA Learnability

Wisdom demonstrated through analytical strength and interpersonal empathy.

ruijieyew@gmail.com

Daniel Bashir

Daniel Bashir

Overfitting and Underfitting

Mudd senior with serious ML skills and deep understanding.

dbashir@hmc.edu

Dave Makhervaks

Dave Makhervaks

ML as Search

Quiet strength, with a confidence to strive and a hunger to learn.

dmakhervaks@g.hmc.edu

Tyler Sam

Tyler Sam

ML as Search

A self-motivated learner with precise reasoning and formal acuity.

tsam@g.hmc.edu

Sonia Sehra

Sonia Sehra

Overfitting and Underfitting

Intrigued by the big questions and unafraid to search after their answers.

ssehra@g.hmc.edu

Julia Vendemiatti

Julia Vendemiatti

Overfitting and Underfitting

Julia's brain is just different. Don't expect to keep up with her.

jvendemiatti@g.hmc.edu

Prof. George

George D. Montañez

Lab Director

Just a curious mind swimming in a sea of peculiar observations.

gmontanez@g.hmc.edu

Members Emeriti

Kinjal Shah

Kinjal Shah

Overfitting and Underfitting

A mathematical powerhouse with a keen mind and strong deductive powers.

kdshah@hmc.edu

Nathan Justin

Nathan Justin

Team Lead - ML as Search

Boldness, positivity, and brilliance: Nathan is the real deal.

njustin@g.hmc.edu

Pedro Sandoval Segura

Pedro Sandoval Segura

Overfitting and Underfitting

A beautiful soul who appreciates the beauty of mathematics.

psandovalsegura@g.hmc.edu

Mek Jenrungrot

Mek Jenrungrot

Team KDE

“Mek is a Legend.” — Actual student speaking of Mek.

mjenrungrot@g.hmc.edu

Viva Ojha

Vivaswat Ojha

ML as Search

Anyone who meets Viva never forgets having met Viva.

vmojha@g.hmc.edu